解决方案/卫生部门领导

卫生部门领导

谁影响了

通过了解空气污染对患者健康的影响,医疗保健专业人员可以告知患者并作为提高标准的倡导者。 设施管理人员在采用支持改善健康结果的低碳,气候友好型做法方面发挥着重要作用。

01

教育和宣传

1476668294_education_training_learning_courses 创建了素描。
03 - 教育与宣传 教育和宣传
  • 传达健康负担

    告知自己空气污染物的影响, 特别是臭氧和颗粒物质 由柴油发动机,生物质和关键器官的其他来源排放。 了解心脏病发作,中风的风险, 肺癌 和可导致的慢性呼吸道疾病。

  • 保护有风险的人

    告知您的患者空气污染的健康风险,主要来源以及儿童,老年人,哮喘患者和穷人面临的特殊风险,以及 家庭使用生物质, 用于烹饪,加热或照明的煤或煤油。

  • 支持改进标准

    倡导基于国家和地方的国家和地方空气污染标准 世界卫生组织空气质量准则这是根据不同浓度的环境(室外)和家庭空气污染的死亡和疾病证据精心开发的。

  • 倡导监督

    倡导在当地和全国范围内对空气污染水平进行常规监测和报告,特别是PM2.5 和臭氧,以及健康有害污染物,如氮氧化物,一氧化碳,二氧化硫和挥发性有机颗粒。 更多

  • 进行基于健康的评估

    使用可靠且易于使用的模型,如WHO的AirQ +,评估您的当地死亡和疾病工具是否受到空气污染。 您还可以根据从学校和工作中损失的天数以及当地的医疗保健费用来估算空气污染造成的医疗保健费用。

02

可持续设施

1474458158_cell-2-0 创建了素描。
01 - 可持续发展的设施 据估计,发达国家的医疗设施在3-8%的国家温室气体排放量之间有所贡献。 可以采用新的可持续设计技术将设施转变为进展的信标。
  • 发电

    由于他们对一致的电力和热量的迫切需求,医院可以通过利用热电联产(CHP)等策略开发清洁的现场发电来减少对空气污染的贡献,这些策略利用了建筑用途产生的其他浪费的热量。

  • 自然通风

    自然和混合模式通风可降低成本,污染并改善空气交换,从而在纯机械系统中实现更好的感染控制。 这与节能建筑设计相吻合,如窗户和绿地,以防止极端高温或寒冷和屏幕,以防止携带疾病的昆虫。

  • 再生能源

    小型光伏太阳能系统或基于混合太阳能燃料的系统为离网诊所和医院以及具有不可靠电力接入的城市设施提供特别的效率。 光伏电池板在白天和非高峰时段运行,而发电机则投入较大的负载。 使用USAID开发的HOMER软件估算成本和可行性。

  • 建筑设计

    不良的医疗废物管理增加了不受控制的焚烧造成的污染,并增加了某些传染病和慢性病风险。 在源头分离出必须经过特殊处理的危险废物,这些废物可以进行堆肥,再加工或回收。

  • 水管理

    更好的管理可以包括雨水收集或从洗衣店或厨房等来源重新使用“灰水”以用于其他目的。 减少提取和运输所需的能源还可以减少污染并降低医疗设施的成本,同时保护清洁饮用水的可用性。

03

提供服务

1474458170_earth-keep 创建了素描。
02 - 服务交付 卫生服务 - 不可或缺的资源,特别是对快速发展中国家而言 - 仍然可以留下大量的碳足迹。 新方法可以对人们如何获得护理产生深远影响,同时减少对空气污染和其他环境影响的贡献。
  • 节能设备

    由电池供电的低压医疗设备可以通过光伏太阳能系统进行充电,可以改善重要程序的可及性,特别是在发展中缺乏可靠电力的地区。 高收入地区正在出现“逆向创新”模式,使用这些设备来减少能源消耗并改善患者护理。

  • 可持续采购

    采用“从摇篮到坟墓的方法”,包括尽可能采购更环保的材料,储存最佳的,不过量的库存,并将危险的医疗废物与其他塑料,玻璃,金属和可生物降解的废物进行仔细分离,这些废物可以回收或再加工。

  • 远程保健服务

    新的视频会议技术可以促进家庭医疗保健和远程现场工作,从而可以轻松访问服务欠缺的社区,同时减少旅行产生的排放。

采取行动

让您的城市知道清洁空气对您很重要。

我是一个
我想

世界各地的城市正在采取措施减少空气污染。
呼吁您的领导者成为BreatheLife城市。

立即行动
你所在城市的空气污染

世卫组织,联合国环境和CCAC正在建立一个空气污染数据及其对我们健康的影响的全球数据库。

Solutions / Health Sector Leadership

Health Sector Leadership

Who It Affects

By learning about the impact of air pollution on patient health, healthcare professionals can inform patients and act as advocates for improved standards. Facility managers play an important role in adopting low-carbon, climate-friendly practices that support improved health outcomes.

01

Education & advocacy

1476668294_education_training_learning_courses Created with Sketch.
03 - Education & advocacy Education & advocacy
  • Convey the health burden

    Inform yourself about the effects of air pollutants, especially ozone and particulate matter that is emitted by diesel motors, biomass and other sources on critical organs. Learn about the heightened risks of heart attack, stroke, lung cancer and chronic respiratory diseases that can result.

  • Protect those at risk

    Inform your patients about the health risks of air pollution, its major sources, and the particular risks faced by children, the elderly, people suffering from asthma, and the poor, as well as households using biomass, coal or kerosene for cooking, heating or lighting.

  • Support improved standards

    Advocate for national and local air pollution standards based on WHO air quality guidelines, which are carefully developed in light of the death and disease evidence about ambient (outdoor) and household air pollution at different concentrations.

  • Advocate for monitoring

    Advocate for routine monitoring and reporting of air pollution levels locally and nationally, particularly PM2.5 and ozone, along with health harmful pollutants such as oxides of nitrogen, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, and volatile organic particles. More

  • Conduct health-based assessments

    Assess your local death and diseases tool from air pollution, using reliable and easy-to-use, models like WHO’s AirQ+. You can also estimate health care costs from air pollution, based on days lost from school and work, as well as your local health care costs.

02

Sustainable facilities

1474458158_cell-2-0 Created with Sketch.
01 - Sustainable facilities Healthcare facilities have been estimated to contribute between 3–8% of national greenhouse emissions in developed countries. New sustainable design techniques can be adopted to turn facilities into beacons of progress.
  • Power generation

    Due to their critical need for consistent power and heat, hospitals can reduce their contribution to air pollution by developing clean, on-site power generation using strategies such as combined heat and power generation (CHP) that harness otherwise wasted heat produced for building use.

  • Natural ventilation

    Natural and mixed mode ventilation reduces costs, pollution and improves air exchange for better infection control over purely mechanical systems. This dovetails with energy-efficient building design such as windows and greenery to protect from extreme heat or cold and screens to protect against disease-bearing insects.

  • Renewable energy

    Small PV solar systems or hybrid solar-fuel based systems offer particular efficiencies for off-grid clinics and hospitals as well as urban facilities with unreliable power access. PV panels operate during daylight and off-peak hours while generators pitch in for heavier loads. Estimate costs and feasibility using USAID-developed HOMER software.

  • Building design

    Poor healthcare waste management increases pollution from uncontrolled incineration as well as increasing certain infectious and chronic disease risks. Separate out hazardous wastes at the source that must be specially treated from more general waste, that could be composted, reprocessed or recycled.

  • Water management

    Better management can include rainwater harvesting or reuse of “greywater” from sources such as laundries or kitchens for other purposes. Reducing energy required for extraction and transport also cuts pollution and lowers health facilities’ costs while protecting availability of clean drinking water.

03

Service delivery

1474458170_earth-keep Created with Sketch.
02 - Service delivery Health services - indispensable resources, especially to rapidly developing countries - can nonetheless leave a significant carbon footprint. New approaches can have a profound effect on how people receive care while mitigating contribution to air pollution and other environmental impacts.
  • Energy-efficient devices

    Low-voltage medical devices powered by batteries, which can be recharged by PV solar systems, improve access to vital procedures, especially in developing regions lacking reliable electricity. A pattern of “reverse innovation” is emerging with higher-income regions using these devices to reduce energy consumption and improving patient care.

  • Sustainable procurement

    Using a “cradle to grave approach” including procurement of more environmentally-friendly materials wherever possible, storing optimal, not excessive stock and careful separation of hazardous healthcare waste from other plastics, glass, metal and biodegradables that can be recycled or reprocessed.

  • Tele-health services

    New video-conferencing technology can facilitate home health care and remote fieldwork, allowing for easy access to underserved communities, while cutting down on the emissions generated by travel.

Take Action

Let your city know that clean air matters to you.

I am a
I would like to

Cities across the world are taking steps to reduce air pollution.
Call on your leaders to become a BreatheLife city.

Act Now
Air Pollution in Your City

The WHO, UN Environment and CCAC are building a global database of air pollution data and its impacts on our health.